Tom Snow

Tom Snow has been making music, recording albums and writing hits for himself and other artists—on record, on radio, in the United States and all over the world—since the early 1980s.

He has twice been nominated for the Academy Award for Best Song from a Motion Picture: "Let’s Hear It for the Boy" from Footloose (1984) and "After All" from Chances Are (1990); and he has twice been nominated for the Grammy Award: Best Album of Original Score written for a Motion Picture — Footloose soundtrack; and Song of the Year — "Don’t Know Much."

He has released four solo albums: Country (Clean Records, 1971), Taking It All in Stride (Capitol Records, 1975), Tom Snow (Capitol Records, 1976) and Hungry Nights (Arista Records, 1982).

Tom’s scoring work has appeared in films (Chances Are) and on television (Grand, Steel Magnolias, Teech, etc.) He has added songs to numerous motion pictures including Honey, I Shrunk the Kids, Footloose, The Butcher’s Wife, Sing, Oliver and Company, About Last Night, All the Right Moves, Two of a Kind, and Heart Like a Wheel.

The biggest stars in the world have recorded Tom’s songs, including Diana Ross, Ray Charles, Kenny Loggins, Cher, Thelma Houston, Michael Bolton, Art Garfunkel, Gladys Knight, Anne Murray, Ringo Starr, George Benson, Sergio Mendes, Deniece Williams, Tina Turner, Bette Midler and Dusty Springfield.

His hit songs have been repeatedly honored with BMI Citations of Achievement for their radio popularity, songs like "Love Sneaking Up On You" (Bonnie Raitt), "Don’t Know Much" (Linda Ronstadt and Aaron Neville), "If Ever You’re In My Arms Again" (Peabo Bryson), "He’s So Shy" (The Pointer Sisters), "Somewhere Down The Road" (Barry Manilow), "You Should Hear How She Talks About You" (Melissa Manchester) and "Deeper Than The Night" (Olivia Newton-John).

In 1986 Tom won the prestigious Robert J. Burton Award for BMI’s Most Performed Country Song of the Year — Dolly Parton’s "Don’t Call It Love."

His latest projects embrace the worlds of pop music, motion pictures and the theatre (the stage adaptation of FOOTLOOSE features nine new songs by Snow; he also contributed material for Amanda McBroom’s HEARTBEATS). Snow contributed a song to Joe Cocker’s 2002 release, No Ordinary World and songs on both of Christina Aguilera’s English and Spanish language albums.

Tom Snow attended the Berklee College of Music. He is a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Songwriters and the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences.

Alle musicals van Tom Snow