Samuel Taylor

Samuel Taylor (1912-2000) wrote the Broadway plays THE HAPPY TIME, based on the book of the same name by Robert Fontaine, SABRINA FAIR, THE PLEASURE OF HIS COMPANY (with C.O. Skinner), FIRST LOVE (adapted from Romain Gray’s memoir, Promise at Dawn), BEEKMAN PLACE, AVANTI!, A TOUCH OF SPRING, FLYING COLORS and THREE BY THREE. He also wrote the book for NO STRINGS which he produced, in association with Richard Rodgers, who wrote the music and lyrics.

Mr. Taylor also was enlisted by Alfred Hitchcock to mend the script of Vertigo, which had already gone through two writers at the time. He made substantial changes, added characters and dashes of San Francisco color and decided to let the audience in on the film’s secret well ahead of the fade-out. His other film credits include Topaz, The Eddy Duchin Story, Goodbye Again and Rosie, in addition to adapting (with Billy Wilder and Ernest Lehman) his play SABRINA FAIR into the film version with Audrey Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart entitled Sabrina.

Alle musicals van Samuel Taylor